Download the Crowle Primary Academy app from the app store for up to date news items .
Home Page

Crowle Primary AcademyBelieve And You Can Achieve

Welcome toCrowle Primary AcademyBelieve And You Can Achieve

Areas of learning

There are seven areas of learning that we cover in our setting (both indoors and out):

3 Prime Areas of learning which underpin all other learning areas: 
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
4 Specific Areas, which include essential skills and knowledge:
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
We have a wide variety of themes this year which are interwoven with the children’s needs and interests and the ‘rhythm of the year’. By ‘rhythm of the year’ we are referring to seasons and special calendar events.

These include:
  • When the Dust Settles
  • Time Travellers (including The Amazing Aztecs)
  • Sea and Shore
The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is centred around key principles which include playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically.  You can support your child if you make time every day to do some of the following things:
  • Sing and tell nursery rhymes
  • Talk about numbers, colours, shapes, words and letters you see when you are out and about
  • Be creative with your child and make things which involve cutting and sticking
  • Cook or bake together
  • Plant seeds or bulbs in pot or garden patch
  • Use the weather – shadows, rain, puddles, snow, wind, mist, sun – to extend your child’s vocabulary
  • Explore a parks and other natural areas in the community in all seasons
  • Share a book
  • Talk to your child at every opportunity